Since the last update I’ve been reading a lot more than I actually realised, I’m stunned to discover that I’ve actually read three times more books over the last month and a half than I did the same time period before! It looks like this year might be the most successful reading year yet as I’m well on track to completing my Goodreads reading challenge!

Current progress, as of 26/03/17

I have read 39% of my overall challenge of 100 books, which means that I am 16 books ahead of schedule!

My last update recorded 10 books, but in the same time period this time I’ve read quite a number more, many of my reads correlating to The Ultimate Reading Challenge List. Therefore, I can definitely say that this last month or so has been the most successful update to date!


Books I’ve read since the last update:

Underlined Books that are part of The Ultimate Reading Challenge List

[I also added on a rating out of five stars for each of the books I read.]

  1. Elizabeth Is Missing // Emma Healey 5 stars
  2. All the Bright Places // Jennifer Niven 5 stars
  3. The Girl Who Was Supposed to Die // April Henry 3 stars
  4. This Is Where It Ends // Marieke Nijkamp 5 stars
  5. The Infinite Sea // Rick Yancey 5 stars
  6. Eagle Strike // Anthony Horowitz 5 stars
  7. Abducted // Evangeline Anderson 4 stars
  8. The Raven Boys // Maggie Stiefvater 3 stars
  9. The Giver // Lois Lowry 3 stars
  10. Sabriel // Garth Nix 4 stars
  11. It’s Not How Good You Are, It’s How Good You Want To Be // Paul Arden 4 stars
  12. Me Before You // Jojo Moyes 4 stars
  13. The Last Star // Rick Yancey 5 stars
  14. The Little Book of Clarity // Jamie Smart 4 stars
  15. Confessions From An Arranged Marriage // Miranda Neville 2 stars
  16. Not That Kind of Girl // Lena Dunham 4 stars
  17. The Alien’s Abduction // C. K. Roxanne 2 stars
  18. Captured by the Sweet Alien // Ruth Anne Scott 3 stars
  19. Taken for the Alien Prince // Ruth Anna Scott 3 stars
  20. Mine to Tarnish // Jeneal Falor 3 stars
  21. Defaced // Marissa Farrar 4 stars
  22. The Knife of Never Letting Go // Patrick Ness 5 stars
  23. The New World // Patrick Ness 3 stars
  24. The Miserable Mill // Lemony Snicket 3 stars
  25. Owned By the Hitman // Alexis Abbott 1 star
  26. A Monster Calls // Patrick Ness 5 stars
  27. The Power // Naomi Alderman 4 stars
  28. The Extra // Kathryn Lasky 2 stars
  29. The One // Keira Cass 3 stars

The Highlights

  • Overall, I’m really glad to have finished The Fifth Wave trilogy; it’s truly unlike any YA trilogy I’ve read before and I definitely recommend for anyone looking for some brilliant characters and thrilling plot.
  • As always, anything by Patrick Ness. The film adaptation of A Monster Calls is also just as amazing as the book.
  • Sabriel was a brilliant read. I went into it blind not sure quite what I would find. I was pleasantly excited to discover a fantastically-constructed world with memorable characters and a badass heroine.
  • Abducted. While it seemed another awful romance on the surface, it was a surprisingly great read blending humour, drama and sci-fi elements.
  • I added in some non-fiction books which I don’t usually read, my favourite of which is Not That Kind of Girl.

The Low-lights

  • Me Before You. Admittedly this was a good read, but it wasn’t as mind-blowing and polished as I wanted it to be. I finished the book feeling that something was lacking.
  • The One. The third instalment of the series was the middle ground between what I hated about the first book and what I loved about the second.

Currently reading and plan to finish soon…

Quicksand // Malin Persson Giolito // 20%
Hunchback of Notre-Dame
// Victor Hugo // 12%
Daring Greatly // Brene Brown // 10%
Tess of D’Urbervilles // Thomas Hardy // 4%
Betrayal’s Price // Lisa Blackwood // 0%
Ketchup Clouds // Annabel Pitcher // 0%


What are you all reading at the moment? Do you have any great reads to recommend? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

